Places: Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina

Traveling to Mostar

I first knew I wanted to go to Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina when I discovered pictures of the Stari Most online (See bridge photo). It looked like a beautiful place and upon further research, and finding that it had been the most bombed city in Herzegovina during the Bosnia-Serbian war, I knew I had to make it there one way or another. I found it to be a wonderful city with friendly and welcoming people. Much of the city is still in ruins and as depressing and that sounds, it actually tells a story about life and history in this much unheard of city.

Getting To/From:

As far as I know you cannot fly into Mostar. Most people take a bus from somewhere in Croatia or Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina. To get to Mostar I caught a bus from Dubrovnik that I found out about through this website Autobusni Kolodvor. As usual with traveling, the times on the website were incorrect and I had some waiting around to do but Dubrovnik is a great city for killing some time. The trip between Dubrovnik and Mostar takes about 3 hours and costs around $10 (or equivalent in Kuna). Leaving Mostar I caught a bus to Sarajevo and the scenery along the way was breath-taking! I highly recommend this journey!

Budget Accommodation:

I booked a shared room at Hostel Dino because it was cheap and in walking distance to Stari Most. The hostel lacked atmosphere but that could have been because the bar / kitchen area was under renovation and there were not many other guests that night. I booked Hostel Dino through Hostel Bookers and it cost around $13 per night. The location was good and it was very central but if I went back I would probably try to stay in the old town, just purely because it was adorable!

Free Things to Do:

The main tourist attraction of Mostar is Stari Most. Signs all over the city will point you in the right direction. To get there you will wind through the old town, filled with souvenir shops and cafes. Lots of photo ops will present themselves!

Best Time to Visit:

September / October. These months are just beyond the normal tourist season so you will find many more accommodation options and everything will be much cheaper but it is still warm enough to enjoy being outside.

* Side Note:

I was in Mostar in late September and was lucky enough to stumble upon a local indie rock music and art festival happening in the old national library in the city center which has never been fully restored. The entry to this festival was free and I got to experience Herzegovina nightlife at its finest – with locals, art and beer! There is a big University in Mostar so stuff like that frequently happens. Make sure to chat with the residents so you don’t miss out!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment